18 comments on “a slight detour before I begin building…

  1. I would be forever in your debt if you could grab me a piece of something!!!! I hear the original foam pieces are still around some doorways…if any pieces are fallen off….

    😉

    I am sooooo completely jealous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have been visitting some of the Superman and Superman III locations that are around here..but not NEARLY as cool as Tunisia!!!!!

    Have a great time man! Lots of pics!!!!

    Jason

  2. Oh I have read that locals stll find pieces of the krayt dragon and of the exterior of lukes home (the dome thing..which was a different location than the interior of his house). Maybe if you are lucky and talk to the right person you miight score one of those. Also I think pieces of the nazi plane that blew up in Raiders of the Lost Ark turn up from time to time too.

    Again….JEALOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Jason

  3. WOW Jason….that was a very modest wish list, lol. Shall I see if i can get the whole dome thingy or perhaps even have them ship the entire nazi airplane from Indiana Jones? Do really have enough room in you home? hehehe

    I’ll see if anything has fallen off or looking like its about to fall off 😉
    But seriously, this trip was booked the same day the idea popped up. So I’m trying to take it all in….I wonder if they are still serving that blue milk that they drank in A New Hope 😀

    Thomas

  4. Hahaha..nono….You misunderstood my post. I am not asking for all those things..just saying what I have read about some lucky tourists..hope you are one of them.

    If you happen to have an extra goodie I’d be forever in your debt..but of course I don’t want you to waste your trip thinking of some strange canadian! 😉

  5. Oh man.. I feel really bad now…I was just trying to tell you all the things you have to be on the lookout for..kind of like winning a lottery if u find a piece like that. I was just asking if you saw a loose piece of something at LUke’s house maybe you could grab an extra one for me..but really I don’t expect it.

    I feel bad asking now….it really did not cross my mind that I sounded like I was asking for the dragon, luke home or Nazi plane pieces. Sorry man. Forget everything I said!!

    Excpet the “I am Jealous” part….I stand by that!!!!!!!! 😉

  6. I did’nt even know the site was still around.
    That’s AWESOME you get to see the real deal.
    Get pics
    Calvin

  7. HI Calvin, yeah some of the sites are still around. Actually the “luke” home has always been a hotel I’ve been told. I guess I’ll know when I get there 😀

    Thomas

  8. Even I so jealous, I’m From Tunisia, I have visited Lars homestead (Hôtel Sidi Driss in Matmata) The Cantina, some outside Footage of Mos eisly, Ben Kenobi’s House and the Tochi Station (all in Djerba where I grew up in my childhood), the Slave Quarters from mos Espa (Ksar Hadada in Tatouine, Ksar Medenine in Medenin and Ksar Oueld Soltane also in Tataouine)but I have never visited the Set of Mos Espa or the outside of Lars Homestead in Chott el Jerid…

  9. Yes that is true..it is a hotel..although not likely a 5 star one. 😉 They have a bar but Im not sure about the blue milk.

    The hotel is right in town, so the exterior shots were filmed elsewhere.

    Very jealous!!

    Oh..I did find the Clark Kent farm from Superman the Movie this weekend. VERY cool to visit in person. It seems to not be known which makes the find that much sweeter!

    Jason

  10. Sorry Jason…I’ll try and keep my enthusiasm to a minimal but ..WOOOOOHOOOO!!!

    I’m going to the Mecca of Sci Fi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀

    …. I couldn’t resist, lol

    Thomas

  11. I would too!!! You are one lucky guy! That would of course be my dream movie location visit…but I have a close second with the Superman farm. 😛

    Jason

  12. That is true…both farm boys..never quite fit in…knowing destiny had something great in store for them. 🙂

    You have to check out that link I sent you. I was chatting with one of the guys from those expeditions. He has done it twice! There is a breakdown of their day trips and lots of pictures. They also went to many of the Raiders sites. I don’t know if I could handle seeing that much!!!

    😉

    Have a great trip man!!!!!!!!!!!

    Jason

  13. Thanks Jason…I don’t think I could keep up the pace of a 7 day SUV excursion without loooooooooooooosing my mind 😉

    Thomas

  14. You should try to visit Finse( Hoth, inThe Empire Strikes Back), Norway to… Tunisa and Finse could probably not be more fare apart, both geographically and climate wise.

    • I’m thinking about it but haven’t decided yet….as a trooper or with artoo

      Thomas

Leave a Reply

